Vehicle Tag Renewals

Vehicle Tag Renewals can be processed by mail by completing the renewal form received in the mail and returning it to the Tax Commissioner’s Office or bringing this form to the office.

You may also renew your tag by phone by calling 1-877-496-0249 using the RIN# provided on the pre-bill and follow the prompts.

You may renew your registration over the Internet anytime 24 hours per day, 7 days a week at: https://mvd.dor.ga.gov/tags/index.aspx.

Renewals must be made on or before the birth date of the primary owner when owned by an individual, or the last day of the month when owned by a business.

The penalty for late registration is 10% of the tax ($5.00 minimum) and 25% of the tag fee. These penalties begin immediately following the due date.

We accept cash or checks for payment of Tag Renewals. Checks must be drawn on a Georgia bank.

Office hours:
Property
: Monday – Friday 8:00AM - 4:45PM
Motor Vehicle: Monday-Friday 8:00AM – 4:45PM

For further information regarding vehicle registration, please visit the State of Georgia Motor Vehicle Division website at http://motor.etax.dor.ga.gov.