Georgia Law requires you to renew all auto tags within 30 days before your birth date. After the deadlines, renewals are subject to a 10% penalty on the ad valorem tax due and a 25% tag penalty fee.
Note: If you as registered owner do Not receive a renewal notice, it does not relieve you from your obligation to renew the vehicle’s registration by the due date. Penalties will not be waived because you did not receive a renewal notice.
Methods of Renewal
Tags can be renewed online by clicking here.
You can renew your registration 24 hours a day, seven days a week by calling the Georgia Department of Revenue at 1-877-496-0249.
American Express, Discover, MasterCard and Visa are accepted online. The Georgia Department of Revenue charges a credit card convenience fee of 2.35% ($1 minimum fee) to use the online service.
If you renew by mail, your payments should be mailed 30 days prior to the renewal date to allow time for processing. To ensure timely processing and to avoid penalties, carefully read your renewal notice for instructions and additional information. If a renewal is submitted without all the required information, it will be returned. Mail in payment methods include personal checks or money orders, which must be drawn on a Georgia bank.
Mail renewal payments to:
Newton County Tax Commissioner
1113 Usher Street Ste 101
Covington, GA 30014
Make checks and money orders payable to “Newton County Tax Commissioner”.
As the registered owner, you may cancel your registration at any time; however, you must cancel before you terminate your insurance in order to prevent any penalties. You may cancel your registration using form MV-18j at any tag office, by mail, or online by clicking here.