The Georgia Department of Revenue website has a list of available specialty tags along with applicable fees.
Most specialty tags require the following:
- An annual specialty tag fee.
- An annual tag renewal fee.
- A onetime tag manufacturing fee.
- Any documents required.
Note: A valid Georgia driver’s license or Georgia identification card is required to request a specialty tag.
Georgia law requires the Newton County Tax Commissioner to collect any fees associated with specialty tags, but the Newton County Tax Commissioner does not determine the fee amounts.
If the specialty tag you request is not in stock and all required fees are paid, you will be issued a 90 day temporary operating permit. Once the specialty tag becomes available, it will be mailed to your address.
Disabled Placards & Plates
To obtain a disabled person’s license plate or placard, a notarized MV-9D (Disabled Person’s Parking Affidavit) must be completed and submitted by your licensed healthcare practitioner.
Disabled Person’s License Plate
The fee for a disabled person’s license plate is $20. Other fees and penalties may apply, including ad valorem tax or title ad valorem tax.
Disabled Person’s Placards
Your temporary placards are valid for six months from the issue date. To renew a temporary placard, you must submit a newly-completed MV-9D.
Permanent placards must be replaced every four years. To renew a permanent placard, you must submit a newly-completed MV-9D.
To obtain a disabled person’s license plate or placard (you hang from your rear-view mirror), you must submit one of the following:
- MV-9D (Disabled Person’s Parking Affidavit) completed by a Georgia-licensed healthcare practitioner and notarized.
- A signed and dated statement by a doctor on prescription paper may be submitted, including the disabled person’s name, indicating whether the disability is permanent or temporary. The paper must include the doctor’s printed name, address, phone number, and license number.
Bring your original completed MV-9D or the original doctor’s statement with your Georgia driver’s license or Georgia ID card with your current Newton County address to the Newton County Tag Office. If your driver’s license or ID does not have a Newton address, proof of residency in Newton County is required.
Note: The licensed healthcare practitioner or doctor must designate whether the disability is temporary or permanent.